Friday, January 10, 2014

THE STREETWALKIN' CHEETAHS [2001] Waiting For The Death Of My Generation

It's not the least bit surprising that the Streetwalkin' Cheetahs lifted their name from the first line of "Search and Destroy," one of Iggy Pop's most incendiary songs; the Cheetahs use the Stooges as one of their sonic reference points. But the number of other '70s stalwarts that surface in the Cheetahs' blazing, brilliant sophomore album, Waiting for the Death of My Generation, is nothing short of astounding.

Of course the Cheetahs can claim influences from four disparate decades of music and be right on the money with all of them. The band is as punk as the Stooges and the MC5 ("Right to Rock"), as metal as Motörhead ("Future Lost"), as new-wave as the Cars ("Automatic"), as brightly poppy as Cheap Trick ("Lookout"), and as hard-rock horny as Aerosmith ("In My Head"). The Cheetahs betray at least one sidelong influence with a blistering cover of the Saints' "Know Your Product," complete with Stones-ish horns and insistent hooks, followed by the full throttle Beatles-meets-Minor Threat thrash fest "Why You Gotta Come First."

Guitarists Frank Meyer and Art Jackson are encyclopedic riff historians who have successfully incorporated the hooks of their ancestors into their own top-volume execution. The Cheetahs ably combine the belligerence and animal power of Ace Frehley, James Williamson, and Wayne Kramer with the visceral fury of each successive generation of punk thrown in for needle-burying goodness. By the end of 40 heart-stopping minutes on Waiting for the Death of My Generation, it's clear that the Streetwalkin' Cheetahs are a shrieking rock 'n' roll time capsule, bursting with lore from the past and ready to alter the future. sourced:

01 - Right To Rock
02 - Future Lost
03 - No More
04 - Automatic
05 - Know Your Product
06 - Why You Gotta Come First
07 - White Collar Money
08 - Lookout
09 - Mama Train
10 - Petty Little Girl
11 - In My Head
12 - Dirty Mockingbird

37.18 Mb

Huge thanks to Frank Meyer for sending us this and permitting it to be posted.

1 comment:

  1. The Streetwalkin' Cheetahs
    “Fuck The Future (I Want Now)” Music Video

    The Streetwalkin’ Cheetahs/Cheetah Chrome Tour Itinerary:

    Wednesday, March 26th live on KXLU radio 88.9 FM Los Angeles (SWC only)
    Thursday, April 3rd at Soda Bar in San Diego, CA
    Friday, April 4th at Whisky A Go Go in West Hollywood, CA
    Saturday, April 5th at M-15 Concerts, Corona, CA (new venue!)
    Sunday, April 6th Stories Books and Café, Silver Lake, CA (4pm in-store)
    Sunday, April 6th Spike’s, Rosemead, CA (new date!)
    Thursday, April 10th at Dive Bar in Las Vegas, NV (rescheduled date!)
    Friday, April 11th at Blank Club in San Jose, CA
    Saturday, April 12th at Thee Parkside, San Francisco, CA


Anonymous requests for re-uploads will be ignored.