Friday, February 20, 2015

Captain Sensible ‎– Revolution Now

Resuming his solo career in the late '80s, Sensible reached some sort of artistic peak on the excellent Revolution Now (1989), an all-new album of originals (some co-written by Cleaner From Venus/Brotherhood of Lizards' Martin Newell) recorded with such comrades as Rat Scabies, Henry Badowski and Paul Gray. Although hampered a bit by Sensible's minimalist singing and the obvious use of synthesizers where real instruments would have sounded better, the record is still full of catchy melodies and nearly serious left-field lyrics. (Not to mention spoken- word TV bites that help express Sensible's chagrin at modern consumerism.) There isn't a bad song here, and the best ones — "Missing The Boat," "The Toys Take Over," "Revolution Now," "Phone-In" — cover amazing stylistic ground with ease and flair. sourced:

For a great review go here:

01. Missing The Boat
02. Smash It Up (Pt.4)
03. The Toys Take Over
04. S.2.
05. A Riot On Eastbourne Pier
06. Wake Up (You're Only Dreaming)
07. Green Light
08. Lib 2/3
09. Revolution Now
10. Phone-In
11. I Get So Excited
12. Vosene
13. The Kamikaze Millionaire
14. Exploding Heads And Teapots (Past Their Prime)
15. The Coward Of Treason Cove

156.03 Mb

No comments:

Post a Comment

Anonymous requests for re-uploads will be ignored.