Sunday, July 19, 2015


Hailing from the Catskill Mountains in Upstate NY, The Spectacular Average Boys combine folk and Americana roots with the alternative rock influences of kids raised on MTV in the '90s.

Childhood schoolmates Ned Brower, Joel Shue, and Justin Ploutz reunited after graduating to play music together. Drawing inspiration from their hometown, a railroad town on the Susquehanna River, the band became known for raucous live shows and great songwriting.

Following a show in Oneonta, NY the band was approached by drummer Joe Pfeiffer, who had recently moved to the area. Joe quickly gained the approval of loyal fans and became the last SAB member.

With Ned on banjo, Joel on bass, Justin on guitar, and Joe playing drums, the Average Boys' songs sound familiar and brand new at the same time. Drawing from their EP "the Burning of York" which was recorded at Dryhill Studio (known for such acts as Sean Lennon and Al Galladoro), and from a series of upcoming releases titled "City of the Hills," the Boys have drawn comparisons to Modest Mouse, Avett Brothers, and Mumford and Sons.

The Spectacular Average Boys produce and release their music themselves, design and create the merch sold at their shows, and keep a steady schedule of touring and recording.

01 The Devil In Winter
02 Cupcakes For The Army
03 That Dirty River
04 Evil Thing Called Love
05 Big Mouth
06 Parting Words

Name Your Price Download

No comments:

Post a Comment

Anonymous requests for re-uploads will be ignored.