Saturday, April 8, 2017


Lou Paris (Mr. Popular), Mark Rubenstein (Cowboy Mark), Gilbert Avondet (Mr. Ratboy), Pat Fitzgerald (Splat Action)

Sour Jazz is a New York rock band formed by four punk rock lifers down the lower East Side at the dog-end of the last century. Having logged time with legends like Marky Ramone, Cheetah Chrome and Ian Hunter among many others, these well-traveled veterans’ original goal was to simply play music as good as their heroes – the Saints, Radio Birdman, Lou Reed, Mott the Hoople and the Stooges – and ignore the whims and fashions of a music industry which was surely bound to ignore them in return.

They’d have been happy to be a footnote.

Taking their name from a misprint on a Beasts of Bourbon bootleg (namely a mash-up of their seminal Sour Mash and Axeman’s Jazz LPs), Sour Jazz embraced the folly and futility of a life in rock from the beginning. So after numerous recordings and live performances, three labels and a couple of managers, Sour Jazz somehow survives. It’s somewhat remarkable that the band is still here, the original lineup scattered around the world but still, miraculously, intact.

Sour Jazz is led by the world-famous Tokyo-based guitarist Mr. Ratboy, whose lean, incisive tone provides the perfect counterpart to scissor-legged singer Mr. Popular’s tales of urban sleaze. And of course, the combo’s heart beats to the rhythm of bassist Cowboy Mark and drummer Splat Action, together forming a singular engine room of V8 proportion.

1. [1999] No Values

01 - I Live On A Street Called Rock & Roll
02 - Fortune Cookie
03 - I Gotta Change
04 - Crawling
05 - Thirteen Women (And Only One Man In Town)
06 - (I'm A) Prick
07 - That's Cool
08 - It Ain't Cool
09 - Mountain High
10 - Steamroller

46.84 Mb

2. [2001] Lost For Life

01 - Mr. Popular
02 - I Like The City
03 - Easy As Pi
04 - Hold On Me
05 - I've Got It All
06 - Theme From Hot Rod Spaceman
07 - Dig It Up
08 - Messin' With The Kid
09 - No Fun (House)

57.84 Mb

3. [2005] Rock & Roll Ligger

01 - Big Generator
02 - Rock & Roll Star
03 - Can't You See
04 - King Me
05 - Drinking Alone Under The Moon
06 - Downtime In Midtown
07 - That's Cool Too
08 - 14th & Beat Street
09 - Panzer
10 - Antecedent
11 - Know Where To Hide

53.34 Mb

4. [2009] American Seizure

01 - Masquerader
02 - Fun Dumb Daze
03 - Cigarettes & Coughy
04 - Bad Times Coming
05 - Black Maria
06 - Action!
07 - Without You
08 - Monsieur Flop
09 - Nippon Twist
10 - Mrs. Popular
11 - Little Hands

66.44 Mb

1 comment:

  1. I am very happy to catch up with the world of Sour Jazz. Great music and fantastic album cover art. I once posted one of their songs on a blog and received a comment a member of the band who -- instead of demanding that I take down the mp3 -- was pleased that their music was being remembered, shared, and heard. Exceptionally nice.

    I imagine that he/she/it/they is/are equally pleased to see their back catalog here, and I recommend it/them to anyone who enjoys music by the names that are dropped in the above description!


Anonymous requests for re-uploads will be ignored.